The Wigner Medal

The Wigner Medal was established in 1977/8 and was awarded for the first time at the Integrative Conference on Group Theory and Mathematical Physics (7th International Group Theory Colloquium 1978) to Eugene P. Wigner and Valentine Bargmann. The purpose of the Wigner Medal is to recognize outstanding contributions to the understanding of physics through group theory.

The 1978 Wigner Medal Ceremony

Eugene P. Wigner receiving the first Wigner Medal from Arno R. Bohm in 1978.

The Wigner Medal is administered by the Group Theory and Fundamental Physics Foundation, a publicly supported organization. Donations are tax deductible as provided in Section 170 of the Internal Revenue code.

Bylaws of the Wigner Medal (pdf format)

The Wigner Medal is awarded for "outstanding contributions to the understanding of physics through group theory." The awardee is chosen by an international selection committee whose members are elected by the Board of Trustees of the Foundation and by the Standing Committee of the International Group Theory Colloquium. The previous recipients of the Wigner Medal are:

1978 E. P. Wigner
1978 V. Bargmann
1980 I. M. Gel'fand
1982 L. Michel
1984 Y. Ne'eman
1986 F. Gürsey
1988 I.M. Singer
1990 F. Iachello
1992 J. Wess and B. Zumino
1996 V. Kac and R.V. Moody
1998 M. Moshinsky
2000 L. O'Raifeartaigh
2002 H.J. Lipkin
2004 E. Inönü
2006 S. Okubo